Day 22 - Mtoni Marine - Reisverslag uit Zanzibar, Tanzania van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu Day 22 - Mtoni Marine - Reisverslag uit Zanzibar, Tanzania van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 22 - Mtoni Marine

Door: Elke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Elke

02 November 2013 | Tanzania, Zanzibar

After all the camping and early mornings, I allowed myself some leisure time and pampering for the end of my vacation. After a nice, late breakfast, I made my way to the pool side, with my book, magazine and Sudoku and some sun lotion of course. To get some exercise in I started with some laps in the pool, but that was about it, I spent the rest of the day finishing my book (which had not progressed much in the 3 weeks before), drinking a bit, eating a bit and getting a spa treatment.

I had decided to treat myself to a facial and I got something that was quite different from what I’m used to. It started with the natural products that were being used in this spa. Whatever European spas have in little pots or tubes with the word ‘natural’ on them is not even close to the ‘natural’ that was collected straight from the garden before my treatment started. The cleansing and exfoliating at the start of the treatment was not that different from what I’m used to, but then the beautician asked me to turn around. Her English was not very good, so I was not sure whether she actually meant ‘turn around’, but a quick glance in her direction suggested that that was indeed what she wanted. When I did, she place one of those ‘face doughnuts’ at the end of the table, so I figured I had to put my face in there, but this lady very effectively gestured that this was not what was supposed to happen. So I lifted my face and she put a big bowl in the doughnut that had some garden material in it. It looked like stinging nettle, but she told me it was ylang ylang, and some other greens from the garden. When she then put some boiling water in the bow, it became clear to me that this was the steaming part of the treatment, so I was hanging with my face above this bowl and a towel hanging over my head. Every once in a while the beautician would take the ylang ylang branches in the bowl and stir things a bit.

After the spa, I made my way to the reception area, to say goodbye to the majority of our group members, as they were going home. When I booked this trip, their plane was fully booked, so I extended my stay with one day, since a few others had booked the 4 day extension to the trip, I was not alone and we had a nice dinner together that evening. Unfortunately for the others, the plane in Zanzibar left at African time, while their connecting flight in Nairobi left at English time. They had to spend the night at the airport in Nairobi, making me a bit worried about my return flight and my connection to Stockholm in Amsterdam for the next day.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Tanzania, Zanzibar

Kenya and Tanzania

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 November 2013

Day 23/24 – Home

02 November 2013

Day 22 - Mtoni Marine

01 November 2013

Day 21

31 Oktober 2013

Day 20 - Safari Blue

30 Oktober 2013

Day 19 - Zanzibar
Elke

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 152
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50534

Voorgaande reizen:

17 September 2021 - 30 September 2021

Azoren

09 September 2018 - 02 Oktober 2018

Cape Town to Victoria Waterfalls

07 Augustus 2017 - 18 Augustus 2017

Iceland

10 Oktober 2016 - 24 November 2016

Sri Lanka

26 Oktober 2015 - 11 November 2015

Costa Rica

12 Oktober 2013 - 04 November 2013

Kenya and Tanzania

21 April 2012 - 08 Mei 2012

South Africa Vacation

02 Februari 2011 - 24 Mei 2011

"Sabatical at Cincinnati's Childrens Hospital

17 Augustus 2005 - 14 Februari 2006

Master stage Astra Zeneca

Landen bezocht: