Day 5 - Reisverslag uit Ponta Delgada, Portugal van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu Day 5 - Reisverslag uit Ponta Delgada, Portugal van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 5

Door: Elke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Elke

21 September 2021 | Portugal, Ponta Delgada

I decided to take it easy this day, as the climbs from the previous days, either on foot or bike, still echoed in my legs and I realized it is not reasonable to sit behind a desk or on a couch for 50 weeks out of the year and then expect them to support me in the crazy stuff I threw at them now. In addition to the restless legs resulting from this keeping me out of my sleep, I suspect that the absence of my weighted blanket was also contributing to my lack of sleep. I had therefore tried to compensate for this by wrapping the bedsheets around me very tightly, but the only thing that that did was make me get out of breath and too warm.
We started a hike again with a steep climb to see one of few waterfalls on São Miguel. One of our group members already knew at the start of the trip that she would be arriving last in all our activities and she was again last today. Although I started out in the leading group, about half way through I decided to take a rest and wait for her. The path was strenuous and challenging, so I thought it would not be nice to be walking it alone without a familiar face coming behind you. The water at the waterfalls was too cold to be dangling your feet in it for more than a few minutes, so I limited myself to that and skipped a dive, which some people did take, though none of our group members. The remainder of our group did decide to take another 2 km path for a steep climb to another waterfall, but I decided to join our last group member on the way down.
After this we made a stop at another village with a sandy beach, where the water also looked inviting, but the hassle of getting in and out of my swimming gear was less inviting, so I sat down for a drink with quite a few others. That evening I joined a group in another direction from what we had been taken to get to restaurants the days before, leading us to the pier. I ordered a big bowl of salad as a starter, which was a nice change as most meals that we had during our two week trip consisted of either meat or fish with a side of potatoes or fries, which I believe are considered to be vegetables here.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Portugal, Ponta Delgada

Azoren

Wandel en fiets vakantie

Recente Reisverslagen:

30 September 2021

Day 14

29 September 2021

Day 13

28 September 2021

Day 12

27 September 2021

Day 11

26 September 2021

Day 10
Elke

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 14
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50628

Voorgaande reizen:

17 September 2021 - 30 September 2021

Azoren

09 September 2018 - 02 Oktober 2018

Cape Town to Victoria Waterfalls

07 Augustus 2017 - 18 Augustus 2017

Iceland

10 Oktober 2016 - 24 November 2016

Sri Lanka

26 Oktober 2015 - 11 November 2015

Costa Rica

12 Oktober 2013 - 04 November 2013

Kenya and Tanzania

21 April 2012 - 08 Mei 2012

South Africa Vacation

02 Februari 2011 - 24 Mei 2011

"Sabatical at Cincinnati's Childrens Hospital

17 Augustus 2005 - 14 Februari 2006

Master stage Astra Zeneca

Landen bezocht: