Day 8 - Reisverslag uit Azoren, Portugal van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu Day 8 - Reisverslag uit Azoren, Portugal van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 8

Door: Elke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Elke

24 September 2021 | Portugal, Azoren

We started the day with my least favorite activity of any vacation; turning off my alarm at 4.45. After getting up and dressed and packing the last few things, I realized that just because breakfast is being served at 5, does not mean that you have to go get breakfast. So although I wished I had thought of this the night before when setting my alarm, I opted for 30 more minutes of sleep over food (I know that this seems to be out of character, but to get rid of the 15 corona kilos I had gained, I had gone with 16 hours of fasting per day for 7 months already, so my body had learned to very effectively deal with prolonged periods without food, so not getting some at 5 in the morning was going to be easy, while my fondness of sleep had not dwindled at all).
Our bus took us to the airport as we were going to São Jorge, but since tourist season was already coming to an end, there was no direct flight, meaning that we had one 30 minute flight, a 2 hour wait at a small airport followed by another 20 minute flight. The airplanes were small, yet not so small that they made me uncomfortable and the window seat did offer some spectacular views of the various islands.
The advantage of leaving São Miguel early, was that we also made it to São Jorge early and luckily our hotel rooms were ready when we got there as well. I walked into town to get some lunch, but as the supermarket did not sell any bread that was up to my standards, I walked into town to look for a bakery, which we were told would be close as well, but after 50 minutes I still had not found it so I got two slices of pizza from a lunch room, which I took with me to eat sitting on a wall on the boulevard overlooking the ocean. When I sat there to soak up some sun with my arms crossed I felt something pinch my finger and as I turned around to see what it was I saw a small lizard-like thing run off, so although I realize it’s quite an unlikely story, I do maintain that what I felt was this creature biting my finger.
In the afternoon we were taken by bus to another starting point for a hike to Ponta dos Rosais, an old lookout point for whalers. Whaling has been an important source of income on the islands up till about the fifties of last century, with each island having lookout points on high grounds and signalling systems to direct the boats on the ocean to their prey. I did bring my binoculars, just in case, but whale season had probably passed, as we did not see any today, nor did other group members see them on two different boat safaris.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Portugal, Azoren

Azoren

Wandel en fiets vakantie

Recente Reisverslagen:

30 September 2021

Day 14

29 September 2021

Day 13

28 September 2021

Day 12

27 September 2021

Day 11

26 September 2021

Day 10
Elke

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 17
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50614

Voorgaande reizen:

17 September 2021 - 30 September 2021

Azoren

09 September 2018 - 02 Oktober 2018

Cape Town to Victoria Waterfalls

07 Augustus 2017 - 18 Augustus 2017

Iceland

10 Oktober 2016 - 24 November 2016

Sri Lanka

26 Oktober 2015 - 11 November 2015

Costa Rica

12 Oktober 2013 - 04 November 2013

Kenya and Tanzania

21 April 2012 - 08 Mei 2012

South Africa Vacation

02 Februari 2011 - 24 Mei 2011

"Sabatical at Cincinnati's Childrens Hospital

17 Augustus 2005 - 14 Februari 2006

Master stage Astra Zeneca

Landen bezocht: