Hoog bezoek - Reisverslag uit Cincinnati, Verenigde Staten van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu Hoog bezoek - Reisverslag uit Cincinnati, Verenigde Staten van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu

Hoog bezoek

Door: Elke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Elke

03 April 2011 | Verenigde Staten, Cincinnati

Last week, one of my promoters paid us a work visit. I picked her up at the airport on Wednesday evening and then we drove to the hotel where we had a Caesar salad (still one of my favorites and the Americans just happen to make them best) and caught up. Same as when coming here, when I go home I can only have one suitcase, therefore I asked her if she would take some things (winter coat, snow boots things like that) home with her. She was happy to do so, however when she arrived she said that when she left the Netherlands her suitcase was only 15 kg, but after a couple of days in New York her suitcase was 31 kg. Since she was only allowed to carry 23 kg, it looked like I had to come up with some other plan.
The next day work meetings were planned and a short trip to the mall to get some new clothes for her kids. (Turned out that the 31 kg in NY were actually 31 pounds, so we were good again). We went to the Abercrombie & Fitch kids store where we were of course asked whether we needed help and (of course) being Dutch we did not want any, a concept that it not well understood here in the US. We were going through the store, looking at all the clothes (grabbing all shirts, shorts and skirts to check out the prints, measuring them up for their size and going through the piles to look for the right size). Later we understood why the clerk followed us and repeatedly offered to help. It was his job to make sure that all the stacks of clothes looked impeccable. It was absolutely ridiculous watching him fold al the shirt with the help of some kind of plastic mold, to make sure they all had the same size. And the precision with which one shirt was place on top of the other, making sure that all corners aligned perfectly just cracked me up. It made me want to just slightly move one shirt in all the stacks in the stores (I didn’t though).
The day ended with a very nice dinner, with two other staff members of the clinical pharmacology division here. It was good to see that there are still restaurants here that understand how Europeans like to dine. We do not have to be out the door within 45 minutes and luckily the drinks menu did not consist of a list of either Coca Cola or Pepsi products, but actually had wine on them (that I could only taste, since I had to drive home). The food was also very nice. And then all of a sudden, just after we finished our dessert somebody started to rub my back. I could not think of anybody here that would do that so I was quite curious to see who it was. Turned out that it was a local celebrity (a famous architect) who knows the professor of our division here and when he saw my professor, he assumed that I was his wife. I thought it was quite funny, although I think he felt embarrassed. Oh, and we were fortunate to have our Japanese colleague with us, otherwise we would not have a picture to remember this nice evening.
Friday was for some more work meetings and a quick trip to the atelier of the wife of the professor here. Or at least my two professors did (I spend most of my time driving through Cincinnati and receiving directions over the phone to find the atelier). After this we were off to the airport and the trip was over and so were my times with a warm winter coat.

  • 04 April 2011 - 06:53

    Robin:

    And it would be logical if you were the wife of your professor, that the famous architect would grope you ???

  • 10 April 2011 - 21:47

    Elke:

    Nou, nou, 'Grope' is a bit too much for what happened, but my professor and his wife do know this guy. My professor saw it happen and later he said "I was just curious to find out how you two knew each other."

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Cincinnati

"Sabatical at Cincinnati's Childrens Hospital

Recente Reisverslagen:

24 Mei 2011

The mix (II)

23 Mei 2011

Farewells

17 Mei 2011

ER

15 Mei 2011

Friday the 13th

03 Mei 2011

Family visit
Elke

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 122
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50551

Voorgaande reizen:

17 September 2021 - 30 September 2021

Azoren

09 September 2018 - 02 Oktober 2018

Cape Town to Victoria Waterfalls

07 Augustus 2017 - 18 Augustus 2017

Iceland

10 Oktober 2016 - 24 November 2016

Sri Lanka

26 Oktober 2015 - 11 November 2015

Costa Rica

12 Oktober 2013 - 04 November 2013

Kenya and Tanzania

21 April 2012 - 08 Mei 2012

South Africa Vacation

02 Februari 2011 - 24 Mei 2011

"Sabatical at Cincinnati's Childrens Hospital

17 Augustus 2005 - 14 Februari 2006

Master stage Astra Zeneca

Landen bezocht: