Black Swan - Reisverslag uit Cincinnati, Verenigde Staten van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu Black Swan - Reisverslag uit Cincinnati, Verenigde Staten van Elke Krekels - WaarBenJij.nu

Black Swan

Door: Elke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Elke

06 Maart 2011 | Verenigde Staten, Cincinnati

This weekend has been quite, partly since I am still tired from the last one.

I decided to go to the movies with my colleagues. One of them wanted to see ‘Black Swan’, so Black Swan it was. My other colleague had a busy weekend planned, so it was just the two of us. There is a cinema right around the corner where she lives. She had move to a new house, she gave me the address and told me I could park in the back. So I googled it, saw on the map where I had to go (I can now navigate parts of this city without my GPS) and saw in the picture that it was a red house. So I drove over there and parked the car in the back of the red house that I saw and I tried to call my colleague to let her know I was there. To my surprise I got an error message (number three-two-five-nine-six-zero-two, or something close to that) and could not call her. After a while I noticed the house number that I had not seen before and realized that I was in the back yard of the wrong people (whooepsy). So I drove to the next red house in that street, the number was 352 instead of 3502, but we had a miscommunication before on house numbers, so I figured that was happening again. I decided though to park out on the road. I tried calling again and that time used the US number of my colleague instead of her Dutch number (whooepsy again) and than I waited forever for her to come outside. It wasn’t until she called me that I realized that she did not live there either. But third time is a charm, I turned to my GPS that actually just send me around the corner. I still don’t get how that number could be in the three thousands, while the other one was in the three hundreds, but who cares. We were off to the cinema.

The only thing I knew about the movie was that it was about a ballet dancer. For those of you that still plan on seeing that movie, please read the description first and note horror level of the movie. It was a bit unexpected for me, but it was good fun to see how the other people in the audience responded to it.

After the movie we had dinner at ‘Skyline’, this is known for its chili and is apparently the must-go-to restaurants in the city. It was okay I guess, but in terms of reasons to stay I thing it’s a good thing my name is on some research protocols here. In addition to the Skyline they also have an ice-cream parlor that apparently you have to go to. In fact the immigration officer that I talked to in Detroit when I entered the US, asked me if I like ice-cream (“who doesn’t?”) and he advised me to go there. But it was quite cold outside and I had already eaten quite some sweet popcorn (which was okay since I had spend 75 minutes in the gym this morning), so that ‘must go’ experience is scheduled for later.

Then I got a tour around the house of my colleague. It looks like the house of Pippi Long-stocking, very cool actually. The inside was nice as well, it was very big, even had a party room and of course it was right around the corner from some pubs, stores and the cinema. I had also looked into living there, and on one hand I was a bit jealous. But then again 5 year ago I would have loved living there, but I did realize that student housing was really not for me anymore.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Cincinnati

"Sabatical at Cincinnati's Childrens Hospital

Recente Reisverslagen:

24 Mei 2011

The mix (II)

23 Mei 2011

Farewells

17 Mei 2011

ER

15 Mei 2011

Friday the 13th

03 Mei 2011

Family visit
Elke

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 151
Totaal aantal bezoekers 50483

Voorgaande reizen:

17 September 2021 - 30 September 2021

Azoren

09 September 2018 - 02 Oktober 2018

Cape Town to Victoria Waterfalls

07 Augustus 2017 - 18 Augustus 2017

Iceland

10 Oktober 2016 - 24 November 2016

Sri Lanka

26 Oktober 2015 - 11 November 2015

Costa Rica

12 Oktober 2013 - 04 November 2013

Kenya and Tanzania

21 April 2012 - 08 Mei 2012

South Africa Vacation

02 Februari 2011 - 24 Mei 2011

"Sabatical at Cincinnati's Childrens Hospital

17 Augustus 2005 - 14 Februari 2006

Master stage Astra Zeneca

Landen bezocht: